Skip to main content


The festival takes place every year in March. It hosts a feature films competition, a short films competition and several parallel sections. FIFF runs projects all year long such as cultural mediation or its involvement in supporting productions.

Its mission statement:
The Fribourg International Film Festival (FIFF) discovers new and original film-making from around the world, especially Asia, Africa and Latin America, and its carefully curated competition programme serves as a showcase for these works. FIFF is an event which prizes excellence and embraces all cultures and genres, from intimate, introspective works right through to big-budget productions. At the same time, it offers a unique, welcoming and relaxed space for informal dialogue and encounters. FIFF is also passionate about spotting emerging talent and bringing these gifted film makers into FIFF’s extended family 
FIFF is an effective and committed cultural mediator, a conveyor of emotions and a firm believer in the power of cultural and linguistic diversity in film.

Details informations about the Festival's structure are available hereunder:

The Team

The Association

Facts, figures and yearly reports

FIFF is member of...

The Team

The Festival takes place every year in March and takes part in projects all year long. FIFF employs nine persons on a yearly contract and about fifteen others join the team for the months before the Festival. Each edition is possible with the help of a great number of volunteers.

The executive direction is seperated between the head of operation and the artistic direction. Philippe Clivaz directs operation since October 2019 and Thierry Jobin is FIFF's artistic director since May 2011.

More insights about the team:
The team 2023-2024
Job offers
Organisation chart (in French)

Équipe du FIFF 2023 ©Thomas Delley

The association

The Fribourg International Film Festival Association is the funding body of the Festival. Founded in 1987 with headquater in Fribourg, the non-profit organization aims to promote the understanding between the cultures and more particularly between the so-called North and South. It gives preference to films that stimulate reflection and provoke discussion. 

The Association is formed by Festival friends and active members (individuals or collective membership) and counts almost 300 persons. The membership fees contribute to the organization of the Festival. They are also connected to some interesting advantages. Become a friend or a member of the festival too.

More insights about the board:

Bâtiment de l'Ancienne Gare, bureaux du Festival International de Films de Fribourg ©Daniel Ammann, 2015

Board members

Mathieu Fleury
President of the board

Since November 2018

Mathieu Fleury, président de l'association du Festival International du Film de Fribourg

Marine Jordan
Vice-president of the board

Since 2019

Mairne Jordan, vice-présidente de l'association du Festival International du Film de Fribourg

Christine Eggs

Since 2019

Christine Eggs, membre du comité de l'association du Festival International du Film de Fribourg

Beki Probst

Since 2020


Geraldine Zeuner

Since 2020

Geraldine Zeuner, membre du comité de l'association du Festival International du Film de Fribourg

Xavier Barras

Since 2019

Xavier Barras, membre du comité de l'association du Festival International du Film de Fribourg

Paul-Albert Nobs

Since 2017

Paul-Albert Nobs comité association FIFF 2020

Thierry Savary

Since 2019

Thierry Savary, membre du comité de l'association du Festival International du Film de Fribourg

Dominique Willemin

Since 2007

Dominique Willemin, membre du comité de l'association du Festival International du Film de Fribourg


Former presidents

Magda Bossy
Ivan Stern †
Paul Jubin †
Jean-Paul Rüttimann †
Charles Ridoré
Jean-François Giovannini †
Ruth Lüthi
Walter Stoffel
François Nordmann

Founding and institutional members

Action de Carême
Déclaration de Berne (today's name Public Eye)
Pain pour le Prochain

And joined later by l’Entraide Protestante (EPER), Frères sans frontières (today's name E-changer), Groupes volontaires d’outre-mer (GVOM) and Magasins du Monde


FIFF gathers each year a Board of honour. It consists of leading figures from the political, economic, cultural and film industry world who wish to support the goals and the spirit of the Festival.

Board of honour 2024

Elisabeth Baume-Schneider
Conseillère fédérale
Cheffe du Département fédéral de l’intérieur

Eric Nussbaumer

Eva Herzog

Jean-Pierre Siggen
Président du Conseil d’Etat de l’Etat de Fribourg
Directeur des finances

Adrian Brügger
Président du Grand Conseil de l’Etat de Fribourg

Ruth Dreifuss
Ancienne Conseillère fédérale

Joseph Deiss
Ancien Conseiller fédéral
Président de la 65e session de l’Assemblée générale de l’ONU

Alain Berset
Ancien Conseiller fédéral

Sylvie Bonvin-Sansonnens
Conseillère d’Etat de l’Etat de Fribourg
Directrice de la formation et des affaires culturelles

Simone de Montmollin
Présidente de la Commission de la science, de l’éducation et de la culture du Conseil national

Mathilde Crevoisier Crelier
Présidente de la Commission de la science, de l’éducation et de la culture du Conseil aux Etats

Christine Bulliard-Marbach
Conseillère nationale

Valérie Piller Carrard
Conseillère nationale

Pierre-André Page
Conseiller national

Marie-France Roth Pasquier
Conseillère nationale

Gerhard Andrey

Nadine Gobet
Conseillère nationale

Nicolas Kolly
Conseiller national

Johanna Gapany
Conseillère aux Etats

Isabelle Chassot
Conseillère aux Etats

Carine Bachmann
Directrice de l’Office fédéral de la culture

Katharina M. Fromm
Rectrice de l’Université de Fribourg

Lise-Marie Graden
Préfète du district de la Sarine

René Schneuwly
Président du Comité de l’agglomération de Fribourg

Thierry Steiert
Syndic de la Ville de Fribourg

Sonja Gerber
Présidente du Conseil général de la ville de Fribourg

Laurent Dietrich
Vice-syndic de la ville de Fribourg
Directeur de la culture

Philippe Trinchan
Chef du Service de la culture de l’Etat de Fribourg

Juan Diaz
Chef du Service de la culture de la ville de Fribourg

Gérard Ruey
Président de la Commission fédérale du cinéma

Matthias Aebischer
Präsident Cinésuisse

Maurice Ropraz
Président de la Commission cantonale de la Loterie Romande

Gilles Marchand
Directeur général SRG SSR

Pascal Crittin
Directeur RTS - Radio Télévision Suisse

François Mauron
Rédacteur en chef La Liberté

Frédéric Maire
Directeur de la Cinémathèque suisse

Catherine Müehlemann
Präsidentin von Swiss Films

Valentin Blank
Direktor Suissimage

Stéphane Morey
Secrétaire général Cinéforom

Esther Widmer
Geschäftsführerin « Conférence des Festivals » 

Facts and figures

Here are a few statistics from FIFF 2023:

Total audience45 673
Total films99
Feature films in competition12
Short films in competition15
Total screenings277
Total audience at school screenings11 373

You can find more insights in French and German in the yearly reports (open in PDF):

Report 2022/2023
Report 2021/2022
Report 2020/2021
Report 2019/2020
Report 2018/2019
Report 2017/2018
Report 2016/2017
Report 2015/2016
Report 2014/2015
Report 2013/2014
Report 2012/2013


Drapeaux du FIFF 2021 ©Pierre-Yves Massot
image en background

Conception et développement: Agence MiNT

My account


Forgot password?

I don't have an account - Create an account

My account

Create an account

I already have an account - Login

Password recovery

Login - Create an account


Login with a TicketID

Welcome on “My favorites” page!

Here you will be able to:

  • Find your screening selection
  • Easily add your screening selection to your cart

Now you can access your favorite and share them from all your browser by creating an account.

Register now

Have a good festival!