Skip to main content

36e 18 - 27.03.2022

Films in competition 2022

International Competition: Long Films

The International Competition is the backbone of the festival programme. As every year, we present about twelve brand new productions from Asia, Latin America, Africa, and Eastern Europe that stand out for their innovation and capability to touch the audience. No style or genre is favoured. Nor is the fact that it is or isn’t a director’s first film. The only criterion is the quality of the work. The films are given four screenings. Usually, filmmakers will travel to Fribourg to defend their films in person and compete for the Regard d’or and other awards endowed with prizes for a total amount of CHF 70,000.–.

The winners perpetuate the impressive list of personalities who have made up the list of recipients of the FIFF award over the past three decades: Gaston Kaboré, Souleymane Cissé, Shaji N. Karun, Ömer Kavur, Raoul Peck, Hou Hsiao-hsien, Fernando Pérez, Abderrahmane Sissako, Stanley Kwan, Pablo Trapero, Edward Yang, Jia Zhang-ke, Carlos Sorín, Bahman Ghobadi, Ernest Abdyjaparov, Lav Diaz, Eric Khoo, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Brillante Mendoza, Lee Chang-dong, Júlia Murat, Wang Bing, Lee Su-jin, Christian Díaz Pardo, Yaelle Kayam, Boo Junfeng, Valentyn Vasyanovych, Alejandra Márquez Abella, Amjad Abu Alala and for sure, Philippe Lacote, winner of the 2021 Grand Prix for La Nuit des rois!

Award winners 2021

"La Nuit des rois" by Philippe Lacote, winner of the Grand Prix at FIFF21
"La Nuit des rois" by Philippe Lacote, winner of the Grand Prix at FIFF21

International Competition: Short Films

For the sixth consecutive year, FIFF presents its International Short Film Competition. All the directors of the selected short films are invited to present their work at Fribourg.
Designed to support the next big names and offering spectators a new wave of talent, the three short film programmes (fiction, documentary and animation) presented at FIFF are the perfect opportunity to discover new cinematic movements straight out of Latin America, Asia, Africa, the Middle East and Eastern Europe.

The best short film will be awarded with a prize of CHF 7500
.– and join the ranks of past FIFF winners such as Manuel Abramovich (La Reina, 2014), Tofigh Amani (Ants Apartment, 2015), Juliana Gómez (Iceberg, 2016), Raed Rafei (Salam, 2017), E del Mundo (Man of Pa'aling, 2017), Payal Kapadia (And What is the Summer Saying, 2018) and Yang Ming (Monsters never know, FIFF 2021).

For the fourth consecutive year, a Jury made up of film students from the Réseau Cinéma CH will be awarding an additional prize of CHF 3000.– as well.

Award winners 2021

"Monsters never know" by Yang Ming, FIFF21
"Monsters never know" by Yang Ming, FIFF21

Conception: By the way studio - Développement: Agence MiNT

Welcome on “My favorites” page!

Here you will be able to:

  • Find your screening selection
  • Easily add your screening selection to your cart

Now you can access your favorite and share them from all your browser by creating an account.

Register now

Have a good festival!